引导阶段

在卡尔达诺测试网阶段和卡尔达诺结算层发布之后,该网络会在『引导模式』下运行一段时期,称为引导阶段。当购买 Ada 的人兑换他们的币时,股权将自动被委派给维护网络的可信节点池。在此期间,不会发放任何区块奖励 - 我们将保持网络在线。这是必要的,因为为了协议功能正常,拥有大部分期权的一些权益所有人必须在线,而在网络运行的头几个月,情况并非如此。

引导阶段将慢慢进入奖励阶段,在这期间更新协议将被发布,将为大宗权益所有人提供在云服务器运行的方便选项。

股权锁定

引导阶段存在于卡尔达诺结算层存在的时期,它只允许固定的预定义用户对系统进行控制。这些用户集(引导阶段权益所有人)以及他们各自控制的总权益的比例,在创始区块中定义。

引导阶段的目的是为了解决在主网开始的时候,大部分股权可能会脱机(开始时违反协议)的担忧。引导阶段将在网络稳定,并且大部分股权在线时结束。

引导阶段之后的下一个阶段被称为奖励阶段,奖励阶段实际上是卡尔达诺结算层作为 PoS 加密货币的『正常』运行模式。

要求

  1. 在引导阶段,卡尔达诺的股权应当被有效地委派给一组固定的密钥 S
  2. S = 7
  3. 股权应该在 sS
  4. 在引导阶段结束时应该解开股权
    1. Ada 买家能够自己参与协议(或将其权利委派给某个代表 S)。
    2. 每个 Ada 买方都应该明确声明自己想要控制的股份。
      • 否则,一旦奖励阶段开始,很容易导致在少于大多数股权在线的情况。
    3. 在撤销股权行动之前,股权应该仍然由 S 节点控制。

提案

现在让我们来看看引导阶段的解决方案:

  1. 初始 utxo 包含引导阶段股权所有人的所有股权。初始 utxo(txIn, txOut) 组成,并且每个 txOut 都有一个存有股权分发的地址。所以我们只是以一种将所有币发送给所有股权所有的方式设置分配。
  2. 引导阶段开始时,用户可以发送更改初始 utxo 的请求。我们为每个交易输出设定股权分配,以将权益分配给引导阶段权益相关者。这有效得使得利益分配是系统不变的。
  3. 重量级代表团有成因状态。它包含对 (Issuer, ProxySK),其中 Issuer 是被委托的利益相关者的标识符,ProxySK 是委派的代理密钥。请注意:
    • 代表必须与发行人不同,即不允许撤销;
    • 委派人不能成为发行人,即不支持过渡性委派。
  4. 当引导阶段结束后,我们禁用股权分配的限制。股权所有人将投票让引导阶段结束:将形成特殊的更新提案,其中一个特定的常量将被适当设置,以触发引导阶段结束的更新提案获得通过。系统的运行方式与引导阶段相同,但用户需要明确说明自己的股份所有权,能承担处理节点的责任。为了获取他的股权,用户应该发送一个交易,指定股权分配的代理密钥(s)。它可能是用户自己拥有的密钥,也可能是某个关键代表(可能是引导阶段股权所有人中的一个或几个)。

Bootstrap Era

After the Cardano SL Testnet era and release of Cardano SL, the network will operate in “bootstrap mode” for a period of time called Bootstrap era. As people who purchased Ada redeem their coins, the stake will automatically get delegated to a pool of trusted nodes that will maintain the network. During this time no block rewards will be issued — we will maintain the network pro bono. This is required because in order for the protocol to function properly, some of the stakeholders who jointly posses majority of stake have to be online, which in reality won’t be the case during the first months of network operation.

The Bootstrap era will lead to the Reward era, during which updates to the protocol will be issued, and the major stakeholders will be provided with convenient options to run their nodes on personal servers in the cloud.

Stake Locking

The Bootstrap era is the period of Cardano SL existence that allows only fixed predefined users to have control over the system. The set of such users (the bootstrap stakeholders) and propotion of total stake each of them controls is defined in genesis block.

Purpose of Bootstrap era is to address concern that at the beginning of mainnet majority of stake will probably be offline (which breaks the protocol at the start). Bootstrap era is to be ended when network stabilizes and majority of stake is present online.

The next era after Bootstrap is called the Reward era. Reward era is actually a “normal” operation mode of Cardano SL as a PoS-cryptocurrency.

Requirements

  1. During Bootstrap era stake in Cardano SL should be effectively delegated to a fixed set of keys S.
  2. S = 7
  3. Stake should be distributed among sS.
  4. At the end of Bootstrap era stake should be unlocked:
    1. Ada buyers should be able to participate in protocol themselves (or delegate their rights to some delegate not from S).
    2. Each Ada buyer should explicitly state she wants to take control over her stake.
      • Otherwise it may easily lead to situation when less than majority of stake is online once Reward era starts.
    3. Before this withdrawing stake action occurs, stake should be still being controlled by S nodes.

Proposal

Let us now present the Bootstrap era solution:

  1. Initial utxo contains all the stake distributed among Bootstrap stakeholders. Initial utxo consists of (txIn, txOut) pairs, and every txOut contains an address with stake distribution in it. So we just set distribution in a way it sends all coins to all Bootstrap stakeholders.
  2. While the Bootstrap era takes place, users can send transactions changing initial utxo. We enforce setting stake distribution for each transaction output to spread stake to Bootstrap stakeholders in. This effectively makes stake distribution is system constant.
  3. There is genesis state of heavyweight delegation. It contains pairs (Issuer, ProxySK), where Issuer is an identifier of stakeholder who delegated and ProxySK is a proxy secret key for delegate. Please note that:
    • delegate must differ from an issuer in each pair, i. e. no revocations are allowed;
    • delegate can’t be an issuer, i.e. transitive delegation is not supported.
  4. When the Bootstrap era is over, we disable restriction on stake distribution. Bootstrap stakeholders will vote for Bootstrap era ending: special update proposal will be formed, where a particular constant will be set appropriately to trigger Bootstrap era end at the point update proposal gets adopted. System operates the same way as in Bootstrap era, but users need to explicitly state they understand owning their stake leads to responsibility to handle the node. To get his stake back user should send a transaction, specifying delegate key(s) in stake distribution. It may be the key owned by user himself or the key of some delegate (which may also be one or few of Bootstrap stakeholders).

Please read about Stake Delegation in Cardano SL for more details about delegation mechanism.