卡尔达诺结算层的转账费用

驱动力

卡尔达诺结算层需要交易费主要因为两个原因:

  1. 人们运行卡尔达诺结算层完整节点,需要花费时间、金钱和经历来运行协议,为此他们应得到补偿和奖励。在卡尔达诺结算层中与比特币不同的是,当新货币在每个区块被挖出时,交易费用是协议参与者的唯一收入来源。

  2. 第二个原因是为了防 DDoS(分布式拒绝服务攻击)。在 DDoS 攻击者,攻击者尝试用虚假交易来冲击网络,如果他必须为每个虚假交易支付足够高的费用,这种攻击形式对于他来说就过于昂贵了。

交易费用如何运作

每当有人想要转移一定数量的 Ada,这笔转账就会有一个最低的转账费。如果想让这个交易有效,必须包含这笔很小的费用,尽管发送者可以选择支付更高的费用。

请阅读下面的交易分配方式。

最低转账费

一笔转账的最低费用通过下面的公式计算:

a + b × size

其中:

  • a 是一个特殊常量,目前是 0.155381 ADA;
  • b 是一个特殊常量,目前是 0.000043946 ADA/byte;
  • size 是以字节为单位的转账数据大小

这意味着每笔交易至少需要 0.155381 ADA, 每字节的交易需要额外的 0.000043946 ADA。例如,大小为200字节(相当典型的大小)的转账费用是:

0.155381 ADA + 0.000043946 ADA/byte × 200 byte = 0.1641702 ADA.

有参数 a 的原因是为了防止上面提到的 DDoS 攻击:即使是非常小的虚假交易也要花费足够的代价,以此来防止试图产生成千上万交易的攻击者。

引入参数 b 用来反映实际成本:存储更大的交易比存储更小的交易需要更多计算机内存,因此数据量更大的交易应该比数据量小的交易收费更贵。

虽然是通过特定参数 ab 计算的,这些值可能会在未来进行调整,以更好地反映实际成本。

交易分配方式

在一个特定 epoch 中产生的交易费用会被收集到一个虚拟池里,然后将这个池里的资金重新分配给由 PoS 算法选举的那些 slot 领导者

在卡尔达诺结算层这个阶段,所有的区块都是有 IOHK 以及我们的合作伙伴运行的节点创建的,收集了费用(为了防止 DDoS 攻击),但它们不会被重新分配,而是被销毁。

不久,卡尔达诺结算层进入下一个阶段,完全分布式阶段后,费用会按如上所述分配。

Transaction Fees in Cardano SL

Motivation

There are two main reasons why transaction fees are needed for Cardano SL:

  1. People who run full Cardano SL nodes spend time, money and effort to run the protocol, for which they should be compensated and rewarded. In contrast to Bitcoin, where new currency is created with each mined block, in Cardano SL, transaction fees are the only source of income for participants in the protocol.
  2. The second reason is the prevention of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attacks. In a DDoS attack, an attacker tries to flood the network with dummy transactions, and if he has to pay a sufficiently high fee for each of those dummy transactions, this form of attack will become prohibitively expensive for him.

How transaction fees work

Whenever somebody wants to transfer an amount of Ada, some minimal fees are computed for that transaction. In order for the transaction to be valid, these minimal fees have to be included, although the sender is free to pay higher fees if he so wishes.

Please also read about transaction distribution below.

Minimal transaction fees

The minimal fees for a transaction are calculated according to the formula:

a + b × size

where:

  • a is a special constant, at the moment it is 0.155381 ADA;
  • b is a special constant, at the moment it is 0.000043946 ADA/byte;
  • size is the size of the transaction in bytes.

This means that each transaction costs at least 0.155381 ADA, with an additional cost of 0.000043946 ADA per byte of transaction size. For example, a transaction of size 200 bytes (a fairly typical size) costs:

0.155381 ADA + 0.000043946 ADA/byte × 200 byte = 0.1641702 ADA.

The reason for having parameter a is the prevention of DDoS attacks mentioned above: even a very small dummy transaction should cost enough to hurt an attacker who tries to generate many thousands of them.

Parameter b has been introduced to reflect actual costs: storing larger transactions needs more computer memory than storing smaller transactions, so larger transactions should be more expensive than smaller ones.

Although particular values for parameters a and b were calculated, these values will probably be adjusted in future to better reflect actual costs.

Transaction fees distribution

All transaction fees of a given epoch are collected in a virtual pool, and the idea is to then redistribute the money from that pool amongst people who were elected slot leaders by the PoS-algorithm during that epoch and who created blocks.

At this stage of Cardano SL, where all blocks are created by nodes operated by IOHK and our partners, fees are already collected (to prevent DDoS attacks), but they will not be distributed and instead will be burnt.

As soon as Cardano SL enters its next, fully decentralized stage, fees will be distributed as described above.